Kingmaker
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

(Origin Story) (sorta') Nal'em

Go down

(Origin Story) (sorta') Nal'em Empty (Origin Story) (sorta') Nal'em

Post  KatherineRaelin Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:10 am

Where her race is considered masters of natural arts, spellcraft, and druidic rituals, Nal'em found beauty in the dance of blades and the song of steel. Her lineage gleaning skills from healers and bards, Nal'em found herself out of place among her family. Her parents loved her and brought her up as best they could considering her proclivities, but they were never able to wipe the dark calling.

Determined not to bring shame on the family, Nal'em dropped her surname and began traveling the world to learn the trade she loved. She trained tirelessly with any master she had coin for and stole what she needed to survive or took on small jobs when able. The greater part of her skill has been self-taught and not without certain cost.

Nal'em holds a great mistrust of others and prefers to work alone, though has joined small bands to achieve greater ends. She speaks little, but is not unpleasant to be around. On occasion she can be found at inns enjoying the local fare and trading secrets, or hiring herself out as a courier to lords and ladies.

-------

“My lord, as much as I enjoy your gold, I feel it would be more productive to actually tell the lady how you feel as opposed to having me deliver her nightly letters of unsigned prose.” Nal'em watched as her benefactor scrawled hastily on a sheet of parchment his latest work of devotion.

He looked up from the letter, “You don’t understand the fine art of wooing.” Nal'em frowned. “It takes time, and eloquence, and planning. You have to plant the seed, and culture it, and wait for it to bloom. Wait until they have no other recourse but to love you.”

“You put too much faith in words.”